Charting software · Day trading comparison
Best Charting Platform for Day Trading in 2026
Four things decide a day trader’s platform: indicators per chart, alerts, replay and back-testing, and whether the order goes out from the chart. TradingView Plus covers all four at 29.95 USD a month on annual billing or 34.95 monthly, with 10 indicators per chart and 100 alerts. thinkorswim costs nothing with a Schwab account, TrendSpider has no free plan, StockCharts starts at 19.95 USD. Checked 22 September 2026.
Affiliate link: TradingView pays us a commission if you subscribe through it. The price is the same either way.
Six criteria for the best charting platform for day trading
TradingView, thinkorswim, TrendSpider and StockCharts were checked on six criteria: indicators per chart, alerts, replay and back-testing, broker execution from the chart, the price of the mid tier, and what the free tier withholds. Every figure comes from the operator’s own pricing or platform page, read on 22 September 2026; where a page does not state something, the table says “not stated”. Two caveats: thinkorswim is a broker’s platform for US residents with a Schwab account; and TradingView pays this site a commission through the partner link, while you pay its list price either way.
Day trading, especially with leverage, carries a high risk of loss.
Indicators per chart, alerts, replay and back-testing
| Platform | Indicators per chart | Alerts | Replay and back-testing |
|---|---|---|---|
| TradingView | 2 free, then 5 / 10 / 25 / 50 on Essential, Plus, Premium, Ultimate; 400+ built-in | Price alerts 3 / 20 / 100 / 400 / 1,000; technical alerts 20 to 1,000 on paid plans; webhooks from Essential, multi-condition from Plus; alerts expire after 1 or 2 months below Premium | Bar Replay on every plan, minute-level history 180 days on Essential, 365 on Plus, unlimited from Premium; Pine Script strategies with a basic report on every plan, deep backtesting from Premium |
| thinkorswim | 400+ technical studies; no per-chart cap published | Not stated on the Schwab pages | thinkScript for strategy-testing algorithms, options back-testing, paperMoney simulator; bar replay not described on the pages read |
| TrendSpider | 300+ indicators; no per-chart cap published; custom indicators in JavaScript | Standard 10 (kept 30 days), Premium 50 (90 days), Enhanced 100 (180 days), Advanced 400 (365 days); trading bots 5 to 100 | Strategy Tester on every plan: Standard 2-hour bars, 2K depth; Premium 5-minute, 10K; Enhanced and Advanced 1-minute; no replay listed |
| StockCharts | 3 free; 25 on Basic, Extra and Pro | None free; Basic 2 price and 1 advanced; Extra 100 and 100; Pro 500 and 250 | No replay or back-tester listed |
TradingView pricing page; Schwab’s platform and desktop pages; TrendSpider pricing page; StockCharts service-level table. All 22 September 2026.
Broker execution from the chart, mid-tier price and the free tier
| Platform | Execution from the chart | Mid-tier price | Free tier and its limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| TradingView | Trading through selected brokers, chart trading, Depth of Market and paper trading on every plan, including the free one | Plus: 29.95 USD a month billed annually, 34.95 monthly (Premium 59.95 / 69.95); 30-day free trial; annual plans refundable within 14 days | 1 chart per tab, 2 indicators, 3 price alerts, no technical alerts, no customer support, ads |
| thinkorswim | Schwab is the broker: 0 USD online equity commissions, 0.65 USD per options contract | No platform fee; day trading needs margin approval and 25,000 USD minimum equity, per Schwab | No tiers; Schwab account required; 30-day Guest Pass without one |
| TrendSpider | 30+ brokerages via the Trading widget and a free SignalStack account; 5 free automated orders a month | Premium: 91 to 149 USD a month by term, 99 to 149 after a 14-day trial for 29 USD; refund only if requested within 72 hours of the charge and after cancellation | None: “There are no free trials”; every trial is paid |
| StockCharts | “Trade Directly From StockCharts” on Basic, Extra and Pro, not on the free level | Extra: 29.95 USD a month, 13th month free on annual; free 1-month trial, cancellable without charge; charges non-refundable; official real-time data 9.95 USD a month extra | 3 indicators, no intraday charting, no alerts, no saved charts, ads |
TrendSpider quotes each plan as a range by billing term, lower when subscribing directly than after the paid trial (pricing page, 23 September 2026).
Where each platform beats TradingView
thinkorswim wins on price and on options. With a Schwab account the platform costs nothing, the 400+ studies match TradingView’s built-in library in size, and options back-testing and paperMoney are built in. The limits are Schwab’s: a US-oriented account, and 25,000 USD of equity to day trade, a regulatory rule rather than a platform fee.
TrendSpider wins on automation. Every feature is on every plan; only capacities differ. Trading bots, multi-timeframe scanning and a strategy tester with adjustable slippage go further than TradingView without code, at a mid tier three to five times the price, with a paid trial and a 72-hour refund window.
StockCharts wins on indicators per dollar. Basic at 19.95 USD gives 25 indicators per chart, where TradingView Essential gives 5 and Plus 10. The catch is the rest of the row: 2 price alerts, no replay, no back-tester, and official real-time data billed separately.
TradingView wins on breadth at the mid tier. Plus is the only paid tier here that combines 100 alerts, webhooks, a full replay, Pine Script back-testing and broker execution for under 35 USD a month, and the only one of the four with both a 30-day free trial and a 14-day refund window on annual plans.
Verdict for day traders
Essential at 12.95 USD a month annual costs less than Plus but caps you at 5 indicators, 20 alerts and 180 days of minute-level replay. Premium at 59.95 adds second-based intervals, deep backtesting and alerts that do not expire.
Best charting platform for day trading: common questions
Do I need a paid TradingView plan to trade from the chart?
What does day trading on thinkorswim require?
Can I test TrendSpider before paying the full price?
How many alerts does StockCharts Basic include?
Which mid-tier plan costs least for a day trader?
Sources
- TradingView: Pricing and plan comparison, prices, per-plan limits, replay, Pine Script, backtesting and trading rows. Read 22 September 2026.
- TradingView: Policies, refund windows; the pricing-page FAQ excludes monthly plans. Read 23 September 2026.
- Charles Schwab: thinkorswim platforms and thinkorswim desktop, no platform charge, 400+ studies, thinkScript, options back-testing, paperMoney, Guest Pass, day-trading equity rule. Read 22 September 2026.
- TrendSpider: Plans and Pricing, capacities, trial fees, SignalStack broker integrations, and Cancellation and Refund Policy. Read 22 September 2026; refund policy re-checked and pricing (trial and direct-subscription prices) read 23 September 2026.
- StockCharts: Service Levels, Data Plans and Pricing, feature matrix, prices, trial, annual billing, refund terms. Read 22 September 2026; re-checked 23 September 2026: “Start your FREE 1-month trial”, trial accounts begin at Extra, subscription charges non-refundable.